Flashback of 20.

I’m 21… Though being legal for everything is going to be rad, I’m actually being really nostalgic about this, and I didn’t think I ever would be. I think it’s because this past year has been the craziest, and coolest year of my life. This is the year I found myself, I will continue to find myself, I’ve learned that, that you are constantly changing.

There was 7 events that happened this last year that really defined some important things for me, and I can’t even begin to express how thankful I am for each and every person that was apart of it.

 

DCIM100GOPRO

 

Jillian & Ali

#silveralert Florida 2014 February 21st-23rd

Trip that started a year filled with travel, and meeting new people through travel. I had no idea what to expect as far as travel came in 2014, and every trip was a spontaneous adventure that lead to so so much.

 

IMG_7036

My nanny job

2013-2014 two bright lights that reminded me the beauty of our childhood

After dropping out of art school, and no portfolio good enough for freelanced photography yet, I had to find a job that would support me, and help me with equipment and getting started. I honestly thought I’d have the job for a year, and walk away able to do full-time photography, and after a year and a half life sent me a surprise and I went right into full-time photography unexpectedly, low on money, and low on determination. For a few months I was really stuck, but I am so thankful for the nanny job that helped me get going.

 

ali

Jenna & Sophia

2014-2015 Roomates

Super thankful for these two as we explored photography together, and our dreams. Found life long friendships with these two, and I can’t wait for reunions filled with wine, and jazz.

 

IMG_6340

Montana & Blonde Hair

Traveled through the night, into the mountains, and discovered the most peaceful spot on Earth. I’m sure I will find many more amazing peaceful spots, but the mountains called my name, and I’m so happy to have been surrounded by nature, and by the beauty of this world.

Pretty stoked that I finally found a hair color to stick with.

 

IMG_0113

California – Zach & Edwin — Family

I had the opportunity to travel to California to photograph my uncles wedding this summer, and to reconnect with him after 10 years. It’s a great thing when family is brought together through love, and it’s a huge reminder on the importance of family, no matter the distance, no matter the choices, in the end your family, and love is love, and it’s the greatest thing ever. This was a trip I will never forget.

 

IMG_2442

Florida – Round 2

I had the best time traveling across the country with Marissa Murdy as we became friends, and traveled through the night and day through cities we’d never had the chance to see like that before. I’ll get to that later, but the 6 day experience was random, exciting, and the best choice I could have made last minute, though fear overwhelmed me about the trip at first because it was planned in two days, there was something peaceful about it, and by the end of it, I came back determined, and ready to go. Ready to put my all into photography, and I was so refreshed.

 

ali2

Karrah & Marissa

In Florida I had the chance to camp with these two girls in the Florida Keys, camping has always had a huge impact on my life, and this trip didn’t prove anything different. Instead it make it even more clear how much camping can connect people, I know it’s cheesy, but it really does allow you to get to know someone, and it allows you to spend quality time with them. I’m so thankful for last minute 5 hour drive to the Keys as we met a young traveler, locals from Minnesota, an old man that offered us his boat house in North Carolina with the worlds’ best advice, and multiple other remarkable people that all had something in common. Camping. We had the chance to meet other amazing people, and conquer fears together. Missing my time with them right now, but can not wait for more adventures!

 

Every client that ever booked with me for their special portraits, weddings, or those that put their trust in me to teach them studio work. Also to those that allowed me to photograph them for a test shoot, for the growth of a team. Not to mention the clients that hired me with some of the biggest jobs I’ve ever been given. This year has truly been a blessing in disguise as I was given so many unexpected opportunities. Taking full-time photography was the scariest thing I’ve ever done, and a few years ago to post my work was intimidating, I was so nervous that I would be rejected, and unaccepted for what I loved to do. But unexpectedly I have been given nothing but support from everyone. Through failures, through triumphs; I don’t how I deserve the love I’ve been shown through my work, it’s my life, I wake up and photography is it, I make it sound like I don’t have much of a life, but I mean that I couldn’t picture myself doing anything but waking up to photography, and the fact that I am so young, and have such a support system makes me so unbelievable happy, and grateful.

 

Family & Friends you just rock like always, and thanks for making 20 so great for me.

 

I get that 21 is just a number, but to me it’s a little bigger, I’m being sappy about it, and that’s cool, because all I can think about is how great I’m about to make 21. I’ve got some pretty rad adventures planned for this year, for myself, for my business, and for the continued discovery of myself. I’ve learned a lot about where my intentions in life should be, and it can only go up from here.

 

IMG_5015

–Ali

 

 

Leave a Reply

