Our past…

Have you ever listened to a song, and remembered the past, to where that song brings you?

It’s happened more than once in my book, and matter of fact, it just happened. A little under a year ago I thought my life was set, I thought I knew where I was going, what I was doing, and who I was. But what did I know? I was just an 18 year old girl with a dream of making it big in the city, as a photographer, wearing the latest trends and having the coolest friends. But that isn’t who I am today at all. I get it, I am only 19 now, one year difference, but the change that can happen in a year completely shocks me. Think about it, what has changed in your life in the past year? Has it been a big or minor change? Mine has been pretty big. My idea on life has changed, and it will only continue to change. But just for the heck of it, here is what I have gathered, I am 19, with a dream of living in the woods, being happy as much as I can, wearing whatever I feel like-which seems to be long cotton dresses, having those I love dearly constantly close, and having my relationship with God continually grow each and every day.  I have such different aspirations as I did last year, and with the beat of a song I have been reminded of the girl I was yesterday, who I have grown into today, and precious moments that altered my life.

Some say don’t get caught in the past, some say embrace it, and others say never forget your past. I think that each situation varies on how you should remember your past, and as I sit here writing this post, I would be lying if I said I wasn’t getting caught in the past. Maybe I should change the Pandora station? I don’t know, I haven’t decided yet if this is therapeutic for me yet or not.  Being happy for where I am at today, or being torn that I don’t have any of the same dreams as I did last year? As my thoughts ponder, I am curious what yours are.. Tell me, how do you prefer to remember the past from the list of 3 above, or another if you have one?  How do you deal with your remembrance of the past?

blog

Leave a Reply

