Do It Yourself Day

Photo by: Maggie Dehart

Photo by: Maggie Dehart

Description of beautiful

Description of beautiful

50mm 1.4

50mm 1.4

50 1.4mm

50 1.4mm

Photo by: Maggie Dehart

Photo by: Maggie Dehart

Photo by: Maggie Dehart

Photo by: Maggie Dehart

Photo by: Maggie DehartTilt-Shift

Photo by: Maggie Dehart
Tilt-Shift

Tilt-Shift

Tilt-Shift

50 1.4mm

50 1.4mm

Maggie Dehart and I had what we called a Do it Yourself Day..

A day that we thought of ourselves, being artists, creating art, setting aside (real-world) problems.  Not that we had that many, but we set them aside. We did what we wanted for a change. I don’t know if I can speak for Maggie, but I know that this day was such a refreshing moment. It was a new year, and a new beginning. I’m not one to think that things start over in the New Year but I gave it a shot. I believed that things can go as we want them to in the beginning of a New Year, and to spend it with this lovely gal was one of the best things I could have done.  It was cold that day, and the cold started to get the best of us. So our amount of time we spent shooting wasn’t what we were hoping, but we did accomplish the things we wanted to most that day; record a video of the entire day, or parts of the day to share with everyone, shoot with digital and film, and go home to a nice cooked healthy dinner, and end the night with recreating our closets…the night also had a fun surprise by coloring Maggie’s hair. It was such a good day overall that there isn’t one thing I could complain about.

I’ve been sitting here thinking if school is really the right thing for me, and wondering if learning more about photography in the hands of others is the greatest idea, most of what I know is self-taught, and I cherish that, and I’ve always wanted to set a goal that I learn everything I will in school by myself.. However, I know that by leaving school I will set a trap from myself, or will I? This is the exact question that lingers over my head every time I think about leaving. So for one day it was nice to set aside the stress of school, and create for me. Okay, so maybe I have multiple days where I can create for me, but it was different that day, it was break, there was no school the next day, or the day before, it was me.. With my camera, the object that living without would be really difficult. Anything I did that day wasn’t for a grade, a critique, or for anyone else’s eyes unless I decided it could be.. I wasn’t held by a string with a camera being told what to do, how to shoot it, or where to shoot it… Even what to shoot it with.. It was refreshing to live that way for a day, and I can thank Maggie for helping have that refreshing journey.  As far as leaving school, that question won’t ever be answered, I’m staying in school, and i’m going to embrace it as much as I can, but i’m not going to allow to be held by a string, i’m cutting those strings attached and i’m going to show off what I want, and become what I want… That’s what real artists do, right?

I will defiantly have more DIY days, and I highly recommend you try them to, do whatever you want for a change, cut the strings that hold you the way your “supposed” to be held, and live life…

Video from our DIY day:

Leave a Reply

